Uncategorized

Was I dreaming? – Japan: Looking back, looking forward

Its been a few months since I am back in Germany.

Bild 1

Leaving everybody and everything behind was the hardest thing ever.. when the Americans left after just 3 months I  thought I could never cry that much ever again – I was wrong. But it was also a good thing.. seeing so many people crying about you leaving, getting so many hugs and nice words – that really made me happy. And back in Hamburg I had to cry again. Than feeded my family and friends with the „Tokyo banana“.

After 1,5 months living at my parents house I  moved back to my University town. Finally I am able to put the pictures I took in Japan on my wall. But when I´m looking at them I feel weird „Wait a Second.. I was living in Japan for one year? I met all these awesome people? The person who is smiling into the camera is really me?“

It was always my dream to go to Japan.. when I was there, I still felt like dreaming.. now I am back in my new old life, back in reality – and that feels so weird and good at the same time. I guess the hardest part for me is not seeing my friends I met (and not be able to buy matcha stuff^^).

When I arrived in Frankfurt (..don´t ask me how.. thats another story) everybody looked the same. Finally I got on the train and I was totally pissed – after one year not hearing your native language it is totally annoying to understand e.v.e.r.y. s.i.n.g.l.e w.o.r.d . But now I´m over that (^-^) but there is still Japanese and English in my head – confusing and kinda nice at the same time.

„So Nini.. how was Japan? Was it worth it?“ – „Japan was awesome and yes.. every single second was worth it.“

When I was struggeling about going to Japan or not I always told myself that it will be an experience – good or not, that doesn´t matter. Now I can say that of course there were days I was upset, there were hard days but I never never even thought that I regret it or wanted to go back – never. I learned so much from my teachers, my friends and Japan itself.

I´m happy being home. Every single day that passes by, Japan becomes more and more a memory. And every day that passes by brings me more and more back to Japan. I will come back(!)… just have to figure out how.. but I already got some ideas. Yeah actually I have a lot ideas which not always include going back to Japan. Well, who knows…

Anyways… I miss you guys, I love you and you are always welcome in my home.. you can get coffee, chocolate, good cheese, black bread and Nini cake as much as you want!

MyPicture-1MyPicture-2

Take care guys! See you soon (^-^)/

PS: I will upload a little video about my town on my youtube channel TheTravelCake soon-ish. Check it out if you like!

Kommentar verfassen

